Fable on PC: requirements, stores and Steam Deck

Fable comes to PC on launch day through Steam and the Xbox PC app. The minimum specs ask for an RTX 2060 or RX 6600 class card with 6 GB of VRAM, and 135 GB on an SSD. Source: fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated), Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026)

The Hero, a sword on his back, looks across a village of thatched houses toward a giant beanstalk
A village with a giant beanstalk. Image: Microsoft / Playground Games

System requirements

From the official FAQ and the Steam listing, checked 2 Oct 2026. Steam lists only the RTX 3060 Ti and RX 6700 XT as recommended cards; the RTX 5060 and RX 9060 XT come from the FAQ.
ComponentMinimumRecommended
OSWindows 10 22H2 (64-bit)Windows 10 22H2 (64-bit)
CPUAMD Ryzen 5 2600 or Intel Core i7-6850KAMD Ryzen 5 5600 or Intel Core i5-11600KF
RAM12 GB16 GB
GPUAMD Radeon RX 6600, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060, NVIDIA RTX 5050 or Intel Arc A580NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Ti or RTX 5060, AMD Radeon RX 6700 XT or RX 9060 XT
VRAM6 GB8 GB
DirectXVersion 12Version 12
Storage135 GB, SSD required135 GB, SSD required

Playground also recommends turning on XMP and Resizable BAR. Source: fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated), Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026)

High and Ultra tiers

DSOGaming reports two higher tiers from the official spec chart. They are not on the Steam page. Source: DSOGaming (29 Aug 2026)

High and Ultra tiers as reported by DSOGaming.
TierCPUGPU
High (1440p, 60 fps)Intel Core i7-12700K or AMD Ryzen 7 7700XRTX 3080 Ti or RTX 5070, or RX 7900 XT or RX 9070
Ultra (4K, 60 fps)Intel Core i9-13900K or AMD Ryzen 9 7900XRTX 4080 or RTX 5080

Graphics and frame rate

On PC, Fable supports NVIDIA DLSS 4.5, AMD FSR 3 and 4, and Intel XeSS 2.1, plus uncapped frame rates, 4K and HDR10 on supported hardware. Steam lists it as single-player with full controller support (gamepad recommended) and Family Sharing, on Windows only. Source: Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026), fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated)

The FAQ says players can choose 30 or 60 fps but does not say which platforms that covers, and promises more detail closer to launch. Associate Game Director Craig Littler has confirmed a 60 fps performance mode on Xbox Series X. He would not compare PS5 or PC settings yet. Source: fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated), TechRadar (16 Sep 2026)

Steam or the Xbox PC app

Steam and the Xbox PC app compared.
SteamXbox PC app
Price (US)$69.99 Standard, $99.99 Premium$69.99 Standard, $99.99 Premium
Game PassNot includedDay one on Game Pass Ultimate. PC Game Pass on day one is not stated.
Xbox Play AnywhereNoYes, one purchase also covers Xbox consoles
Premium UpgradeOn sale only after launch$39.99, on sale now
Early access with PremiumYesYes
Family SharingListedNot stated

Source: Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026), Xbox.com (checked 2 Oct 2026), Xbox Store (checked 2 Oct 2026), fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated)

If you have Game Pass Ultimate, or you also play on an Xbox console, the Xbox app version covers both through Play Anywhere. If you want the game in your Steam library, buy it there. For early access on Steam, buy the Premium Edition from the start, because Steam's upgrade only goes on sale after launch. Play Anywhere does not cover Steam or PS5 purchases. Source: Xbox.com (checked 2 Oct 2026), fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated)

Steam Deck

Valve has not rated Fable for Steam Deck. Its compatibility check for app 2769570 returns "unknown", and neither Xbox nor Playground has said anything about it. The install needs 135 GB on an SSD. We will update this when Valve rates the game. Source: Steam Deck compatibility (checked 2 Oct 2026), Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026)

Languages

Full audio and text: English, German, Portuguese (Brazil) and Spanish (Latin America). Text only: French, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Simplified Chinese and Spanish (Spain). Russian is not on the list. Source: fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated), Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026)

PC FAQ

Is Fable on Steam, Epic or GOG?

Fable is on Steam (app 2769570) and the Xbox PC app. Epic and GOG releases have not been announced. Source: Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026), Xbox.com (checked 2 Oct 2026)

What are the PC requirements?

Minimum: an RTX 2060, RTX 5050, RX 6600 or Arc A580 (6 GB VRAM) and 12 GB RAM. Recommended: an RTX 3060 Ti or 5060, or an RX 6700 XT or 9060 XT (8 GB VRAM), and 16 GB RAM. Both need 135 GB on an SSD and Windows 10 22H2. Source: fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated), Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026)

Is Fable on PC Game Pass on day one?

Not confirmed. Fable is on Game Pass Ultimate from day one, but PC Game Pass is not confirmed (see the release date page). Source: fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated)

Does Fable support DLSS, FSR or XeSS?

Yes: NVIDIA DLSS 4.5, AMD FSR 3 and 4, and Intel XeSS 2.1. On PC it also supports uncapped frame rates, 4K and HDR10 on supported hardware. Source: Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026), fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated)

Is Fable Steam Deck verified?

Not yet rated. Valve's compatibility check returns "unknown", and Playground has said nothing about handhelds. Source: Steam Deck compatibility (checked 2 Oct 2026)

Does Fable support ultrawide monitors?

This has not been announced.

Does Fable run at 60 fps on console?

Playground confirmed a 60 fps performance mode on Xbox Series X. The FAQ says you can pick 30 or 60 fps. Details for PS5 and Series S have not been announced. Source: TechRadar (16 Sep 2026), fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated)

Is there cross-save between Xbox, PS5 and Steam?

Not announced. Xbox Play Anywhere covers only Xbox consoles and the Xbox PC app. Source: Xbox.com (checked 2 Oct 2026)

What languages does Fable support?

Full audio in English, German, Portuguese (Brazil) and Spanish (Latin America). Text only in French, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Simplified Chinese and Spanish (Spain). Source: fablethegame.com (22 Jan 2026, since updated), Steam (checked 2 Oct 2026)

Last updated